• Blog Posts

  • Categories

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Copyright of Vick Linde

    MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

World Poetry Day #2

Yesterday was World Poetry Day and to celebrate I shared one of my poems and said that I would write another. I am writing ‘After Poems’ where I take the theme and structure of a poem I admire and write my own homage to it.

In the end I chose the poem ‘A Chagall Postcard‘ by Peter Porter. I really like his poetry, and of all of the poets that I read a lot of I think my style is naturally most like his. Far less developed but closer than I am to anyone else. He used punctuation and word-play in a similar way to what I try to do. I have also had a major art-crush on Chagall for a very long time. I love all of his work but especially his windows. When I was in Chicago my top priority was getting to see the large mural of his in the centre of town.

So this is what I came up with yesterday as a nod to World Poetry Day, Chagall and Peter Porter.

“The Cry Ascends”

From ‘A Chagall Postcard’ by Peter Porter

Is this truth all that we can have,
The dark palette, the harsh music,
Tucked away in hidden corners,
The circling crows?

Celebrate in nature’s night time,
The changes creep through to be seen,
The painted noise we hide behind,
Left to the cold.

Day and night twist the morning dawn,
The light shines so we cannot touch,
Break the bonds to see promised flaws,
False smiles all around.

I was trying to take inspiration from both the poem and also the painting (it could be several of Chagall’s works but I think I narrowed it down). The idea of useful and the useless and how people interpret that as well as the image of the shrouded bride and one line that I loved from Porter’s poem “Proud lovers end as pallid friends” really stuck with me. I wanted to use ideas of light and dark, shadow and shade both to reinforce the image of a hidden side to the bride and unmentioned groom as well as nod to the art of painting as well. I took the natural and musical elements of the poem and made them more general and then focused into the bride as a person rather than a concept.

I think it needs more work but I always feel that, anyways a poem for World Poetry Day!

Vick.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

