• Blog Posts

  • Categories

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Copyright of Vick Linde

    MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

National Poetry Day

I have complained before (and at length) about how much I wish I could post poems online without disqualifying them from poetry competitions and submissions. So today, for National Poetry Day, I decide to write something just for the internet. I won’t be able to share it anywhere else but I can put it up on the blog and over on my own custom poetry site as well.

Throughout the day I tweeted and posted to Facebook lots of little bits of the poem as it was written so that people could follow along. If you have a look at Twitter or Facebook I’ve also popped some short poems up there that I scattered around the internets today.

This year’s theme for National Poetry Day was ‘Stars’ and so I took and idea that had been buzzing around inside my head for a little while about relationships and constellations and made it into a full poem. Here goes…

A-Capella.

The lines on my palm map
out uncharted constellations.
A future written just for me
and those crossing my path.

Roads of our journey held close.
Run parallel and near enough
to reach out to you. And touch.
A sense we can’t keep –

forever but as all senses fade
we build on our memory –
that is mine. You don’t get it
back when you leave.

Swans dance between my fingers
and a dragon’s tail crosses the
old story of vanity and child,
watched by hunted bears.

Lay down, eyes fly upwards
where the twins dance and
fish are free to swim high
in the field among heroes

I waited to hold your hand
and when you let go of me
to jump the tracks and run
I sat still, empty handed…

except for the stars we had
drawn there, marked in my
hold. They mostly hide, out
of sight, but I still feel them.

I hope everyone had the chance to do a little something to celebrate National Poetry Day. It’s very close to my heart. I’ve had a great time posting as I write and hope you’ve enjoyed reading it.

Vick.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

